TASTE




A note on biodynamic agriculture

(Extracted from An Introduction To Biodynamic Agriculture, originally published in Stella Natura 1995 by Sherry Wildfeuer)

What is Biodynamic Agriculture? In seeking an answer let us pose the further question: Can the Earth heal itself, or has the waning of the Earth's vitality gone too far for this? No matter where our land is located, if we are observant we will see sure signs of illness in trees, in our cultivated plants, in the water, even in the weather. Organic agriculture rightly wants to halt the devastation caused by humans; however, organic agriculture has no cure for the ailing Earth. From this the following question arises: What was the original source of vitality, and is it available now?

Biodynamics is a science of life forces, a recognition of the basic principles at work in nature, and an approach to agriculture which takes these principles into account to bring about balance and healing. In a very real way, then, Biodynamics is an ongoing path of knowledge rather than an assemblage of methods and techniques.

Just as we need to look at the magnetic field of the whole earth to comprehend the compass, to understand plant life we must expand our view to include all that affects plant growth. No narrow microscopic view will suffice. Plants are utterly open to and formed by influences from the depths of the earth to the heights of the heavens. Therefore our considerations in agriculture must range more broadly than is generally assumed to be relevant.

Reading The Book Of Nature

Everything in nature reveals something of its essential character in its form and gesture. Careful observations of nature — in shade and full sun, in wet and dry areas, on different soils, will yield a more fluid grasp of the elements. So eventually one learns to read the language of nature. And then one can be creative, bringing new emphasis and balance through specific actions.

Practitioners and experimenters over the last seventy years have added tremendously to the body of knowledge known as Biodynamics.

Cosmic Rhythms

The light of the sun, moon, planets and stars reaches the plants in regular rhythms. Each contributes to the life, growth and form of the plant. By understanding the gesture and effect of each rhythm, we can time our ground preparation, sowing, cultivating and harvesting to the advantage of the crops we are raising.

Plant Life Is Intimately Bound Up With The Life Of The Soil

Biodynamics recognizes that soil itself can be alive, and this vitality supports and affects the quality and health of the plants that grow in it. Therefore, one of Biodynamics fundamental efforts is to build up stable humus in our soil through composting.

A New View Of Nutrition

We gain our physical strength from the process of breaking down the food we eat. The more vital our food, the more it stimulates our own activity. Thus, Biodynamic farmers and gardeners aim for quality, and not only quantity.

Chemical agriculture has developed short-cuts to quantity by adding soluble minerals to the soil. The plants take these up via water, thus by-passing their natural ability to seek from the soil what is needed for health, vitality and growth. The result is a deadened soil and artificially stimulated growth.

Biodynamics grows food with a strong connection to a healthy, living soil.

Medicine For The Earth: Biodynamic Preparations

Rudolf Steiner pointed out that a new science of cosmic influences would have to replace old, instinctive wisdom and superstition. Out of his own insight, he introduced what are known as biodynamic preparations.

Naturally occurring plant and animal materials are combined in specific recipes in certain seasons of the year and then placed in compost piles. These preparations bear concentrated forces within them and are used to organize the chaotic elements within the compost piles. When the process is complete, the resulting preparations are medicines for the Earth, which draw new life forces from the cosmos.

Two of the preparations are used directly in the field, one on the earth before planting, to stimulate soil life, and one on the leaves of growing plants to enhance their capacity to receive the light. Effects of the preparations have been verified scientifically.

Conclusion by Steve Diver, (a permaculture expert, who is also a technical specialist with the U.S. government funded, ‘Appropriate Technology Transfer for Rural Areas’, ATTRA)

Biodynamics uses scientifically sound organic farming practices that build and sustain soil productivity as well as plant and animal health. The philosophical tenets of biodynamics — especially those that emphasize energetic forces and astrological influences — are harder to grasp, yet they are part and parcel of the biodynamic experience.

That mainstream agriculture does not accept the subtle energy tenets of biodynamic agriculture is a natural result of conflicting paradigms. In mainstream agriculture the focus is on physical-chemical-biological reality. Biodynamic agriculture, on the other hand, recognizes the existence of subtle energy forces in nature and promotes their expression through specialized ‘dynamic’ practices.

Donate!

Twitter Instagram Tumblr Meetup

Taste Awakening
Tour 2013
Photo album

TASTE




Une note sur l'agriculture biodynamique

(Tiré de An Introduction To Biodynamic Agriculture, Sherry Wildfeuer, première publication par Stella Natura en 1995)

Qu'est-ce que l'agriculture biodynamique ? En cherchant une réponse, posons-nous la question suivante : la Terre peut-elle se soigner elle-même ou le déclin de sa vitalité est-il allé trop loin ? Quel que soit le lieu où nous vivons, si nous sommes observateurs, nous pouvons voir des signes évidents de maladie dans les arbres, dans les plantes cultivées, dans l'eau, même dans le temps qu'il fait. L'agriculture biologique veut, à juste titre, mettre un terme à la dévastation causée par les humains ; cependant, elle n'a pas de remède pour la Terre souffrante. Ainsi, une autre question se pose : quelle était la source originelle de la vitalité de la Terre, et est-elle encore disponible aujourd'hui ?

La biodynamie est une science des forces vitales, une reconnaissance des principes fondamentaux à l'œuvre dans la nature, et une approche de l'agriculture qui prend en compte ces principes afin d'apporter équilibre et soin. D'une façon très concrète, donc, la Biodynamie est un chemin continu de connaissance plutôt qu'un assemblage de méthodes et de techniques.

Tout comme nous avons besoin d'observer le champ magnétique de la Terre tout entière pour comprendre la boussole, nous devons élargir notre vision et y inclure tout ce qui affecte la croissance des plantes pour comprendre la vie de la flore. Une vision microscopique et restreinte ne saurait suffire. Les plantes sont très réceptives aux influences, depuis les profondeurs de la terre jusqu'aux cieux, et formées par elles. Ainsi donc notre réflexion au sujet de l'agriculture doit couvrir bien plus que ce qui est généralement supposé important.

Lire le Livre de la Nature

Chaque élément de la nature révèle quelque chose de son caractère propre par sa forme et son mouvement. D'attentives observations de la nature — à l'ombre et en plein soleil, en zones sèches et humides, sur différents sols — entraîneront une compréhension plus fluide des éléments. On finit ainsi par apprendre à lire le langage de la nature. Et l'on peut alors être créatif, apporter une nouvelle empreinte et un nouvel équilibre par des actions spécifiques.

Les praticiens et expérimentateurs des soixante-dix dernières années ont fortement contribué au corpus de savoir appelé Biodynamie.

Les Rythmes Cosmiques

Les lumières du soleil, de la lune, des planètes et des étoiles touchent les plantes en rythmes réguliers. Chacune contribue à la vie, à la croissance et à la morphologie de la plante. En étudiant le mouvement et les effets de chaque rythme, nous pouvons calculer le moment de la préparation des sols, des semis, de la culture et de la moisson à l'avantage des champs que nous cultivons.

La Vie des Plantes Est Intimiment Liée à la Vie du Sol

La biodynamie reconnaît que le sol lui-même est vivant, et que cette vitalité supporte et affect la qualité et la santé des plantes qui y poussent. Par conséquent, l'un des efforts fondamentaux de la biodynamie est de produire un humus stable dans les sols par le biais du compostage.

Une Vision Nouvelle de la Nutrition

Nous tirons notre force physique de l'assimilation de ce que nous mangeons. Plus notre nourriture est gorgée de vitalité, plus elle stimule notre propre activité. Ainsi, les fermiers et jardiniers en biodynamie ciblent la qualité, pas seulement la quantité.

L'agriculture chimique a développé des raccourcis pour produire plus en ajoutant des minéraux solubles dans le sol. Les plantes les boivent par l'eau, contournant de ce fait leur capacité naturelle à chercher dans les sols ce dont elles ont besoin pour leur santé, leur vitalité et leur croissance. Le résultat en est un sol moribond et une croissance stimulée artificiellement.

La Biodynamie produit de la nourriture par un lien profond avec un sol sain, vivant.

Un Remède pour la Terre : les Préparations Biodynamiques

Rudolf Steiner fit remarquer qu'une nouvelle science des influences cosmiques devrait remplacer l'ancienne et instinctive sagesse et la superstition. De sa propre vision, il présenta ce qui est désormais connu comme les préparations biodynamiques.

Des matières animales et végétales naturellement agissantes sont combinées en recette spécifiques à certaines périodes de l'année puis placées dans les piles de compost. Ces préparations portent en elles des forces concentrées et sont utilisées pour organiser les éléments chaotiques du compost. Quand le processus est achevé, les préparations résultantes sont autant de remèdes pour la Terre, qui tirent de nouvelles forces vitales du cosmos.

Deux de ces préparations sont appliquées directement dans les champs : l'une sur la terre avant les plantations, pour stimuler la vie du sol, et l'autre sur les feuilles des plantes en pleine croissance pour améliorer leur capacité à recevoir la lumière. Les effets de ces préparations ont été vérifiés scientifiquement.

Conclusion de Steve Diver, (expert en permaculture, également spécialiste technique d'ATTRA (Appropriate Technology Transfer to Rural Areas), institution fondée par le gouvernement américain)

La Biodynamie utilise des pratiques agricoles biologiques scientifiquement cohérentes qui développent et nourrissent la productivité du sol ainsi que la santé de la faune et de la flore. Les principes philosophiques de la biodynamie — notamment ceux qui mettent l'accent sur les forces énergétiques et les influences astrologiques — peuvent être difficiles à saisir, mais ils font pourtant partie intégrante de l'expérience biodynamique.

Que l'agriculture dominante n'accepte pas les principes d'énergie subtile de l'agriculture biodynamique est une conséquence naturelle de paradigmes contradictoires. En agriculture conventionnelle, l'accent se porte sur une réalité physico-chimico-biologique. L'agriculture biodynamique, d'un autre côté, reconnaît l'existence des forces d'énergie subtiles de la nature et en promeut l'expression au travers de pratiques « dynamiques » particulières

Faites un don !

Twitter Instagram Tumblr Meetup

Taste Awakening
Tour 2013
Photo album