TASTE




Conscious Consumerism

‘What if they gave a war and nobody came?’ *


This seemingly naïve question popularized as an anti-war slogan* during the Vietnam War could be adopted as a response to how to resolve the problem of over-consumption: ‘What if a product came on the market and nobody bought it?’

This simplistic question is in fact the fundamental key to a sustainable future. Not consuming is the first step to conservation and reducing resource exploitation, energy consumption, pollution and the green house effect. The second step is conscious consumerism. It is of course unrealistic to imagine a world where we would not consume anything. But reducing consumption and consuming consciously are responsible actions that will provide a sustainable future.

Industrialisation and now globalisation have brought us more ‘things’ than we could ever hope to use or even want, which coupled with advertising and availability, have conspired to turn us into mindless, hyper consumers of ‘stuff’ we mostly throw out. And this extends even to agriculture, where the biggest consumer of an estimated two-thirds or all things grown conventionally is the rubbish tip.

More and more people are becoming aware of the flaws in this system and are making conscious choices to limit consumption, while others feel impotent and locked in to a regime they didn't choose. But choice is possible and choosing is powerful. If enough people were to stop buying products that are wasteful, unsustainable, unethical, polluting, environmentally hazardous, toxic and unsafe, they would cease being produced. The power of consumers is an absolute, but that power needs to be channelled and disciplined. The question is, how far can you go? What are the right choices and how do I know what the right choices are?

One of the traditional ways of manifesting one's disagreement with a product or an action was to boycott it — refuse to buy it or support it in any way. This is still a valid form of protest, but there is a more pro-active approach called ‘buycotting’, where you consciously choose to buy certain products instead of others because they are ethical, fairtrade, organic, environmentally sustainable, etc. Our world is entirely controlled by economic forces and so the consumer's power to choose has far-reaching consequences.

TASTE will develop these themes under these two headings to provide you with updates and suggestions about what to boycott and what to buycott:

Boycotting

Refusing to buy or handle products as a form of punishment or protest. This section provides substantiated reasoning for boycotting certain products and companies because of environmentally unsafe practices, human rights violations, toxic ingredients, green-washing and other unethical factors. It explains why you should stop drinking Coca-Cola or consuming any of this company's other products, why you should boycott Nestlé, BP, Exxon / Esso, Shell, Monsanto, Unilever, McDonald's, Starbucks, Procter & Gamble, GlaxoSmithkline, L'Oréal… As well as providing healthy alternatives to these products.

Buycotting

This is the pro-active alternative to boycotting where one consciously chooses to buy something because of its environmental and healthy properties. TASTE is committed to promoting environmentally safe, organic and biodynamically produced products that do not harm the earth but actually strive to heal it. This section provides links to other sites that help to inform and guide us about consumer choices so that we can all participate in sustainable, conscious consumerism.


*The line comes from a poem attributed to Carl Sandburg written in the 1930's:
‘What if someone gave a war & Nobody came? Life would ring the bells of Ecstasy and Forever be Itself again.’


Donate!

Twitter Instagram Tumblr Meetup

Taste Awakening
Tour 2013
Photo album

TASTE




La Consommation Consciente

« Et s'ils déclenchaient une guerre et que personne n'y allait ? »*


Cette question apparemment naïve, popularisée durant la guerre du Viêt Nam comme slogan anti-guerre, pourrait être adoptée comme réponse au problème de la surconsommation : « Et si un produit était lancé sur le marché sans que personne ne l'achète ? »

Cette question simpliste est en fait une idée fondamentale pour un futur durable. Ne pas consommer est la première étape vers le développement durable et la réduction de l'exploitation des ressources, de la consommation d'énergie, de la pollution et de l'effet de serre. La seconde étape est la consommation consciente. Il est bien sûr illusoire d'imaginer un monde où nous ne consommerions rien. Mais réduire la consommation et consommer consciemment sont des actions responsables qui mèneront à un futur viable.

L'industrialisation et maintenant la mondialisation nous ont apporté plus de « choses » que tout ce que nous pourrions jamais espérer utiliser, ou même désirer ; ce qui, combiné à la publicité et aux gammes infinies de produits, a contribué à faire de nous des hyper-consommateurs irréfléchis de « trucs » que nous jetons pour la plupart. Et cela s'étend même à l'agriculture, où le plus gros consommateur — deux tiers de la production conventionnelle — est la décharge.

De plus en plus de personnes prennent conscience des défauts de ce système et font des choix réfléchis pour limiter leur consommation, tandis que d'autres se sentent impuissants et enfermés dans un schéma qu'ils n'ont pas choisi. Mais le choix est possible et choisir consciemment est un acte engagé. Si suffisamment de personnes cessaient d'acheter des produits qui génèrent des déchets, qui sont contraires au développement durable et à l'éthique, polluants, toxiques et dangereux, ils ne seraient plus produits. Le pouvoir des consommateurs est absolu, mais ce pouvoir a besoin d'être canalisé et discipliné. La question est : jusqu'où pouvons-nous aller ? Quels sont les bons choix et comment le savoir ?

L'une des méthodes traditionnelles pour manifester son désaccord est le boycott — refuser d'acheter tel produit ou de soutenir telle action de quelque façon que ce soit. C'est une forme de protestation toujours actuelle, mais il existe une approche plus dynamique appelée « buycott »** qui consiste à choisir consciemment d'acheter certains produits plutôt que d'autres parce qu'ils sont éthiques, équitables, biologiques, respectueux de l'environnement, etc. Notre monde est totalement contrôlé par les forces économiques, et la capacité du consommateur à choisir a des conséquences d'une grande portée.

TASTE développera ces thèmes suivant les deux principaux sujets évoqués ci-dessus pour vous tenir informés et apporter des suggestions sur quoi boycotter ou buycotter :

Le Boycott

Refuser d'acheter ou de consommer certains produits en représailles ou comme protestation. Cette section expose des raisons établies de boycotter certains produits ou compagnies pour cause de pratiques dangereuses pour l'environnement, de violations des droits de l'homme, d'ingrédients toxiques, d'écoblanchiment et d'autres facteurs contraires à l'éthique. Elle explique pourquoi vous devriez cesser de boire du Coca-Cola ou de consommer les autres produits de cette marque, pourquoi vous devriez boycotter Nestlé, BP, Exxon / Esso, Shell, Monsanto, Unilever, McDonald's, Starbucks, Procter & Gamble, Glaxo Smithkline, L'Oréal… Et propose également des alternatives saines à ces produits.

Le Buycott

C'est l'alternative dynamique au boycott, où l'on choisit délibérément d'acheter quelque chose parce qu'il est bon pour l'environnement et pour notre santé. TASTE se voue à promouvoir des produits sains pour l'environnement, biologiques et cultivés biodynamiquement qui n'abîment pas la terre, mais travaillent au contraire à la restaurer. Cette section propose des liens vers d'autres sites qui aident à informer et nous guident dans nos choix afin que nous puissions tous pratiquer une consommation consciente et responsable.


*Cette citation est tirée d'un poème attribué à Carl Sandburg écrit dans les années 30 :
‘What if someone gave a war & Nobody came? Life would ring the bells of Ecstasy and Forever be Itself again.’
« Et si l'on déclenchait une guerre et que personne n'y allait ? La Vie sonnerait les cloches de l'Extase et serait de nouveau Elle-même pour l'Éternité. »

** mot-valise tiré de l'anglais buy, acheter, et boycott


Faites un don !

Twitter Instagram Tumblr Meetup

Taste Awakening
Tour 2013
Photo album