TASTE





Industrial food production, which now dominates food supplies and threatens food sovereignty, has replaced quality with quantity and has favoured appearance and attractiveness over vitality and nutrition. The result has been a loss of flavour, a loss of ‘taste’ that is so pervasive, some people no longer know (or have never known) what real food tastes like. It is our belief that taste begins with healthy soil cultivated by sustainable, natural agriculture practices. As these practices are misunderstood or taken for granted, re-education and effort to support these practices is required so that we may continue to enjoy the real ‘taste’ of foods and wines. TASTE is therefore committed to supporting the true expression of ‘terroir’ in wines, the real taste of food through natural, sustainable, organic and biodynamic farming methods and the experience of discovering these fundamental worlds first hand through guided tours.

Why ‘TASTE’

‘Taste’ is not just one of the five senses; it is also a form of discovery and one of the most primal sensorial experiences. Learning to taste and acquiring a taste for things is an inherent part of civilised living. ‘Taste’ is also what food, wine and travel are all about. The business of a chef is to combine flavours and savours for a maximum of taste, just as it is the wine maker's task to extract the most ‘taste’ from their grapes. The specific geography or ‘terroir’ where things are grown implies travel, as ‘tasting’ them takes us to that place. We discover the ‘terroir’ of a wine or a food through taste. It also used to mean, ‘to relish, to enjoy’ an experience. It is an invitation: ‘Here, taste this’ and might also be taken as a command: ‘Taste this!’ It is an aesthetic discernment of beauty or excellence. Having good or bad taste. Doing things in a ‘tasteful’ manner or expressing oneself in good or bad taste. All of its meanings are intimately tied to being alive and alert to what is around us and the pleasures that ‘taste’ can bring. In terms of acronyms, T.A.S.T.E. can also mean:

Terroir, Art, Savour, Travel and Events
Tasty, Affordable, Safe for The Environment
Tantalising, Aesthetic, Something Tempting for Everyone
TASTE: Association for Saving The Earth
Training Association for Savouring and Terroir Evaluation
Terra, Ars, Sapor, Trado, Elatio
Transmettre, Apprendre, Saveur, Traduire, Événementiel
Travel, Admire, Smell, Taste, Evaluate

Three levels of activity

In order to serve the greatest possible good, TASTE has been founded around three main activities:

Travel:

Events:

Internet Site / Press / Media:

Travel

The discovery of new places is always tied to the food and culture of those places and so is inherently agricultural. TASTE will conduct thematic and cultural tours for both its local and foreign members in order to promote sustainable agricultural practices, locally produced foods and the discovery of biodynamic wines and farms.

Tastings and events

In its role as a pioneer in bringing biodynamic products to a broad clientele, TASTE will necessarily be a forum for presentations and tastings by biodynamic wine producers and farmers. This social aspect will bring greater understanding about biodynamic practices while further expanding TASTE's membership base. These presentations can function as simple members—inviting—friends gatherings, or media events with invitations to the press to further spread the word.

Internet / Press / Media

In a more direct and active sense, TASTE will host a bilingual (French / English) Internet site for both its members and the general public. The site will grow from its three main themes with regular updates and contributions from members. These contributions could eventually be published in print format for distribution.

In order to further understanding of biodynamic agriculture and advance acceptance of the political, economic and cultural issues that surround sustainable practices, TASTE will offer a professional translation service that will also be available for diverse administrative in—house and exterior needs.

TASTE will also provide a structure for the audio-visual contributions of its members and so function as a ‘producer’ of documentary films and other media formats to inform and educate the public on themes related to sustainable agriculture practices.

Underlying philosophy — helping the planet and enjoying the best quality eating and drinking experience at the same time

Already there is a huge boom in the ‘organic’ food market and this is only going to get bigger. TASTE is committed to sharing the experience of 100% biodynamic wines coupled with as many biodynamic food products as possible, the rest being *organic. The underlying philosophy is not about trying to convert people to organic and biodynamic principles, but through tasting, allowing them to rediscover how delicious things can taste when they're not artificially produced. It's about the simple pleasures of the table — good food and good wine that have real flavours and characters.

The more people there are sustaining natural methods of agriculture, the cheaper it will become. And so there is a direct commercial, sustainable development link to be made through supporting what TASTE represents, which will provide members with additional motivation. We can only hope to assure the future of this planet and that of our future generations if the health of the earth's soils, from which all life depends, is restored. So for those who understand these connections, supporting an association that aims to promote sustainable agricultural practices will be part of their personal effort and contribution to supporting global health.

Part of the TASTE philosophy is to join healthy living with the primary pleasures of eating and drinking. Ideally, all food should bring both health and happiness. Eating and drinking should be able to sustain us not just by filling a mechanical need to fuel the body, but to also fuel the creative spirit in all of us. And this is key to the approach we are taking by offering the foods and wines with the highest vitality. Biodynamics is about harnessing life forces and TASTE is dedicated to introducing those life forces to people’s palates to give them the choice of combining health with pleasure.

*A note on ‘organic’ — By organic we mean agriculture that is practiced with the greatest respect for the soil and the forces of nature to provide the highest level of health. This means agriculture without chemicals, pesticides or herbicides and food that is produced without additives or supplements. It means whole foods that have not been processed or treated in any way, which then transmit all of their nourishment and vitality to those that consume them. It is only by eating whole foods that we benefit fully from the things we eat. To cite Sir Howard who started the Soil Association in England: ‘We need to treat the whole problem of health in soil, plant, animal and man as one great subject.’

A celebration of the senses

The outward emphasis is on pleasure and not on health, but our conviction is that these two things are indivisible. When something tastes good, it gives pleasure and things only taste good when they are naturally produced, and biodynamics adds another dimension of vitality that enhances flavours even more. Organic, vegetarian, or health food restaurants are often gloomy places with glum, ill-looking people who eat for health, which has escaped them, or is escaping them, instead of pleasure. TASTE will be for people who want the most out of life, who value their own health and that of the planet and who have a real appetite for the pleasures of the table. It will be a celebration of the senses that is elegant and refined, yet affordable (basic annual membership costs 10€); gastronomic and wine savvy, but simple and unpretentious.

A convivial association for all ages

Other than wine tastings, which necessarily preclude the involvement of young people, there will be no dominant ‘theme’ or ‘style’ that identifies with a particular age group. Events will be universal in application and emphasis will be given to including youth as the heirs of the future with child specific events being organised from time to time. Food tastings will be seasonal, local and fresh; the range of cultural and sustainable development events will make it possible for everyone from children to the elderly to participate. As ‘taste’ is also something that is learned and shared, family events will be scheduled to reinforce the pleasures of sharing in an environment devoted to enhancing health on this planet. Students will also be able to discover quality wines for the cost of a beer and learn that simple, real food dishes can cost no more than a gourmet sandwich. For people who can afford to indulge themselves, events involving prestigious first growth and world-renowned wines with more elaborate cuisine can be organised. And at the same time, many will discover for the first time that the quality of biodynamic wines and foods is superior to industrial / chemical and will perhaps make a personal lifestyle change that will ultimately help the planet.

Food supplies & sources

In order to encourage local biodynamic farmers, a direct partnership with the farmers who are geographically closest will be pursued. This partnership will imply a direct relationship between members and the producer and will help sensitize them to the origins of what they eat and drink. Working exchanges might even be arranged from time to time for hands on assistance from TASTE's members who are interested in ‘getting back to the land’. This arrangement might also encourage other small farmers to take up biodynamic practices, thus expanding the movement and reclaiming more land from destructive chemical industrial practices.

Ethical principles

Peter Singer's Five Ethical Principals from, The Ethics of What We Eat.

1. Transparency

Consumers have a right to know how their food is produced.

2. Fairness

Producing food should not impose costs on others (any food produced that is not environmentally sustainable, for example, is unfair to future generations).

3. Humanity

Inflicting significant suffering on animals is wrong.

4. Social responsibility

Workers must have decent wages and working conditions.

5. Needs

Choosing to eat a food because of taste or habit (as opposed to necessity) means that your choice must meet stricter ethical standards.

Conscious choices to save the planet

Everyone is aware of the results of the past fifty years of intensive chemical, industrial agriculture: brain cancer, prostate cancer, kidney cancer, pancreatic cancer, asthma, leukaemia, adverse reproductive effects, including birth defects, foetal death and intrauterine growth retardation are all linked to industrial chemical agriculture.

But it is depressing to focus on this destructive trend and so rather than condemn the problem, TASTE intends to live the solution. No toxic chemicals, pesticides or herbicides polluting the soil, the ground water, the rivers, lakes and the sea are used in biodynamic (or organic) agriculture. Biodynamic agriculture also distinguishes itself in having a dramatic ability to heal and restore soils sick from chemical abuse in a very short time. As a creative, life-giving alternative to the destructive, deadly toxins of chemical agriculture, it is highly promising. Soon we will all have to personally decide which we want to support. If we believe this planet has a future and want to leave our children something that is still alive, the choice is obvious.

Donate!

Twitter Instagram Tumblr Meetup

Taste Awakening
Tour 2013
Photo album

TASTE





La production industrielle, qui domine actuellement nos ressources alimentaires et menace de s'en emparer totalement, a remplacé la qualité par la quantité et favorisé l'apparence et l'attrait plutôt que la vitalité et les qualités nutritives. Il en résulte une perte des saveurs, une perte du goût qui s'est tellement généralisée que certains ne connaissent plus (ou n'ont jamais connu) le goût réel de la nourriture. Notre conviction est que le goût commence avec un sol sain cultivé par des pratiques agricoles naturelles et durables. Puisque ces pratiques sont incomprises ou acceptées aveuglément, une rééducation et des efforts pour soutenir ces méthodes sont nécessaires afin que nous puissions continuer à profiter du goût réel des aliments et des vins. TASTE se voue ainsi à soutenir la véritable expression de « terroir » dans le vin, le vrai goût des aliments obtenus par des méthodes agricoles naturelles, durables, biologiques et biodynamiques, ainsi que l'expérience personnelle de la découverte de ces mondes fondamentaux au travers de voyages organisés.

Pourquoi « TASTE »

Taste, le Goût, n'est pas seulement l'un des cinq sens ; c'est aussi une forme de découverte et l'une des expériences sensorielles les plus primaires. Apprendre à goûter et acquérir un goût pour certaines choses est une part inhérente de la vie civilisée. Le Goût, c'est aussi la nourriture, le vin et le voyage. Le rôle d'un chef cuisinier est de marier les parfums et les saveurs pour un maximum de goût, tout comme la tâche du vigneron est d'extraire le plus de « goût » possible de ses raisins. Le terroir, l'endroit précis où poussent toutes ces choses invite au voyage, car les goûter nous emmène là d'où elles viennent. « Goûter » est aussi employé pour signifier « déguster, se délecter, profiter » d'une expérience. C'est une invitation : « Tiens, goûte ceci » et peut aussi ètre pris comme un ordre : « Goûte ça ! » C'est un discernement esthétique de beauté et d'excellence. Avoir bon ou mauvais goût. Faire des choses avec goût, s'exprimer avec bon ou mauvais goût. Toutes ces significations sont intimement liées au fait d'être vivant et attentif à ce qui nous entoure et aux plaisirs que le goût peut apporter. En tant qu'acronyme, T.A.S.T.E. peut aussi signifier :

Terroir, Art, Savour, Travel and Events
(Terroir, Art, Saveur, Tour et Évènements)

Tasty, Affordable, Safe for The Environment
(Savoureux, Accessible, Sain pour l'Environnement)

Tantalising, Aesthetic, Something Tempting for Everyone
(Appétissant, Esthétique, de quoi tenter chacun)

TASTE: Association for Saving The Earth
(TASTE : Association pour Sauver la Terre)

Training Association for Savouring and Terroir Evaluation
(Association d'Éveil au Goût et Évaluation des Terroirs)

Terra, Ars, Sapor, Trado, Elatio

Transmettre, Apprendre, Saveur, Traduire, Événementiel

Travel, Admire, Smell, Taste, Evaluate
(Voyager, Admirer, Sentir, Goûter, Évaluer)

Trois niveaux d'activités

Afin de servir le plus grand bien, TASTE a été fondée autour de trois activités principales :

Voyages :

Évènements :

Site Internet / Presse / Médias :

Voyages

La découverte de nouveaux endroits induit la découverte d'une cuisine et d'une culture différentes, et est donc fondamentalement liée à l'agriculture. TASTE organisera des voyages culturels et thématiques pour ses membres locaux et étrangers, afin de promouvoir des pratiques agricoles durables, des aliments produits localement et la découverte de vins et de fermes biodynamiques.

Dégustations et évènements

Pionnier dans la diffusion de produits biodynamiques auprès d'une large clientèle, TASTE s'affichera comme un forum de présentations et de dégustations organisées par les vignerons et fermiers en biodynamie. Cet aspect social contribuera à une meilleure compréhension des pratiques biodynamiques tout en accroissant encore le nombre des adhérents de TASTE. Ces présentations peuvent s'organiser comme de simples réunions de membres invitant des amis, ou comme des évènements médiatiques, avec invitation de la presse pour toucher un public encore plus large.

Internet / Presse / Médias

D'une façon plus directe et active, TASTE hébergera un site internet bilingue (français/anglais) destiné à la fois à ses membres et au grand public. Le site se développera autour de ses trois principaux thèmes avec des mises à jour régulières et les contributions de ses membres. Ces contributions pourraient donner lieu à des publications imprimées pour une diffusion de masse.

Afin de mieux comprendre l'agriculture biodynamique et de faire progresser l'acceptation des bénéfices politiques, économiques et culturels qui découlent des pratiques durables, TASTE offrira un service de traduction professionnel, qui sera aussi disponible pour divers besoins internes et externes.

TASTE fournira aussi une structure pour les contributions audiovisuelles de ses membres et fonctionnera comme un « producteur » de films documentaires et d'autres médias pour informer et éduquer le public sur des thèmes liés aux pratiques agricoles durables.

Philosophie sous-jacente — aider la planète tout en profitant d'une expérience gastronomique de la meilleure qualité possible

Il y a déjà une progression importante du marché de l'alimentation biologique, et ce n'est encore que le début. TASTE s'engage à faire partager l'expérience de vins 100% biodynamiques associés au plus grand nombre possible de produits biodynamiques, le reste étant certifié bio*. La philosophie sous-jacente n'est pas de tenter de convertir les gens aux principes bio et biodynamiques mais, au travers de dégustations, de les amener à redécouvrir comme les choses peuvent être délicieuses lorsqu'elles ne sont pas produites artificiellement. Il s'agit des plaisirs simples de la table — de bons produits et de bons vins qui ont un véritable caractère et de vraies saveurs.

Plus il y aura de personnes soutenant les méthodes d'agriculture naturelles, plus leur prix baissera. Il y a donc un lien direct, à la fois commercial et relevant du développement durable, qui s'établit en supportant ce que TASTE représente, ce qui est une motivation de plus pour les adhérents. Nous ne pouvons espérer assurer le futur de cette planète et celui des générations à venir que si la santé des sols, dont dépend toute vie, est restaurée. Supporter une association qui vise à promouvoir des pratiques agricoles durables fera partie intégrante de l'effort personnel de ceux qui comprennent ces mécanismes, et contribuent à soutenir la santé mondiale.

Un des aspects de la philosophie de TASTE est d'unir un mode de vie sain avec les plaisirs primordiaux du boire et du manger. Idéalement, toute nourriture devrait apporter santé et plaisir. Manger et boire devraient pouvoir nous sustenter non seulement en remplissant le besoin mécanique d'alimenter le corps, mais en alimentant aussi l'esprit créatif en chacun de nous. Et c'est intrinsèquement lié à l'approche que nous avons choisie en offrant des mets et des vins de la plus haute vitalité. La biodynamie consiste à harnacher les forces vitales, et TASTE s'emploie à faire connaître ces forces vitales à nos papilles afin de nous donner le choix de combiner santé et plaisir.

* Une note au sujet du « bio » — Par bio, nous entendons une agriculture qui est pratiquée avec le plus grand respect pour le sol et les forces de la nature afin de fournir le meilleur niveau de santé. Cela signifie une agriculture sans produits chimiques, sans pesticides ou herbicides, et une nourriture produite sans additifs ni suppléments. Cela se traduit aussi par des produits entiers, qui n'ont pas été transformés ou traités de quelque façon que ce soit, qui transmettent ensuite tous leurs nutriments et leur vitalité à ceux qui les consomment. Ce n'est qu'en se nourrissant de produits entiers que l'on profite réellement de ce que l'on mange. Citons Sir Howard, qui créa la Soil Association en Angleterre : « Nous avons besoin de traiter le problème de la santé du sol, de la flore, de la faune et de l'Homme comme un seul grand sujet. »

Une cÉlÉbration des sens

L'accent est véritablement porté sur le plaisir et non la santé, mais nous sommes convaincus que les deux vont de pair. Quand quelque chose a bon goût, cela donne du plaisir, et les choses ne sont bonnes que lorsqu'elles sont produites naturellement ; la biodynamie ajoute une dimension de vitalité qui rehausse d'autant plus les saveurs. Les restaurants bio, végétariens, « natures » sont souvent des endroits tristes remplis de gens mornes et maladifs, obsédés par le mythe de la santé parfaite, plutôt que de bons vivants curieux. TASTE s'adresse aux personnes qui veulent profiter au maximum de la vie, qui prêtent attention à leur santé et celle de la planète, et qui ont un réel appétit pour les plaisirs de la table. Ce sera une célébration des sens élégante et raffinée, et cependant accessible à tous (avec une adhésion annuelle de base de 10 euros) ; gastronomique et sophistiquée, mais simple et sans prétention.

Une association conviviale pour tous les âges

Hormis les dégustations de vins, qui excluront évidemment les jeunes adhérents, il n'y aura ni « thème » ni « style » dominant qui viserait un groupe d'âge en particulier. Les évènements seront universels et une attention toute particulière sera portée aux jeunes en tant qu'héritiers du futur, avec l'organisation de temps à autre d'animations dédiées aux enfants. Les dégustations gastronomiques seront saisonnières, avec des produits locaux et frais ; le large éventail d'évènements culturels liés au développement durable permettra à tous de participer, des enfants jusqu'aux seniors. Puisque le goût est aussi quelque chose qui s'apprend et se communique, des animations familiales seront programmées afin de renforcer les plaisirs du partage dans un cadre dédié à la santé de cette planète. Les étudiants auront aussi l'occasion de découvrir des vins de qualité au prix d'une bière, et d'apprendre que de simples plats, préparés avec de bons produits, ne coûtent pas plus cher qu'un sandwiche gourmet. Pour ceux qui peuvent se le permettre, des évènements proposant des vins « premier cru » et de renommée mondiale et une cuisine plus élaborée pourront être organisés. Et en même temps, beaucoup découvriront pour la première fois que la qualité des aliments et vins biodynamiques est supérieure aux produits industriels/chimiques, et en viendront peut-être à changer leur propre style de vie, pour le plus grand bien de la planète.

Approvisionnement & provenance des aliments

Afin d'encourager les fermiers biodynamiques locaux, un partenariat direct sera engagé avec les fermiers les plus proches géographiquement. Ce partenariat impliquera une relation directe entre le producteur et les adhérents et aidera ces derniers à se sensibiliser sur l'origine de ce qu'ils mangent et boivent. Des échanges de travail pourront même être organisés de temps à autre et fournir une aide active de la part des adhérents de TASTE qui voudraient « retourner à la terre ». Cet arrangement pourrait aussi encourager d'autres petits paysans à s'engager dans des pratiques biodynamiques, développant ainsi le mouvement et préservant plus de terres des pratiques industrielles chimiques destructrices.

Principes éthiques

Les cinq principes éthiques de Peter Singer (The Ethics of What We Eat)

1. Transparence

Les consommateurs ont le droit de savoir de quelle façon est produite leur nourriture.

2. Honnêteté/équité

Produire de la nourriture ne devrait être cause d'injustice (tout aliment produit à l'encontre du développement durable, par exemple, est injuste envers les générations futures).

3. Humanité

Toute souffrance infligée aux animaux est condamnable.

4. Responsabilité sociale

Les travailleurs doivent avoir des conditions de travail et un revenu décents.

5. Besoins

Choisir de manger certains aliments par goût ou habitude (et non par nécessité) implique que ce choix remplisse des critères éthiques stricts.

Des choix conscients pour sauver la planète

Nous sommes tous conscients des conséquences de cinquante années d'agriculture industrielle et chimique intensive : tumeur du cerveau, cancer de la prostate, cancer des reins, cancer du pancréas, asthme, leucémie, effets indésirables sur la reproduction (maladies congénitales, mort fœtale, retard de croissance intra-utérin) sont tous liés à l'agriculture industrielle chimique.

Mais il est déprimant de se focaliser sur cette tendance destructrice, et plutôt que de condamner le problème, TASTE se propose de vivre la solution. Aucun produit chimique, aucun pesticide ou herbicide polluant le sol, les nappes phréatiques, les rivières, les lacs ou la mer n'est utilisé en agriculture biodynamique (ou bio). L'agriculture biodynamique se distingue par sa capacité spectaculaire à soigner en très peu de temps les sols rendus malades par les abus chimiques. En tant qu'alternative créative et fertile aux toxines destructrices et mortelles de l'agriculture chimique, elle est très prometteuse. Bientôt nous aurons à décider personnellement de ce que nous voulons soutenir. Si nous croyons que cette planète a un futur et que nous voulons léguer quelque chose d'encore vivant à nos enfants, le choix est évident.

Faites un don !

Twitter Instagram Tumblr Meetup

Taste Awakening
Tour 2013
Photo album