France like you've never seen it before!

Paris

Wine Taste Awakenings
Self-Drive Tours
Car-free Weekend Getaways

 

TASTE TOURS

 

France

The geographical diversity and physical beauty of the countryside combined with an astonishing array of well-preserved historical monuments, small scale farming and the best wines and gastronomic experiences one might ever hope to have, make France the most desirable destination in the world. But the idylls of the French countryside and the attractions of the traditional bistro are only worthy if they reflect real tastes and authentic foods that are grown and prepared naturally and sustainably.

Bourgogne

TASTE TOURS prides itself in being able to share the passion of real taste through its contacts with the most passionate producers and growers and helps travellers to better appreciate how taste ties us to the soil. The essence of taste is the spirit of place. The soil of France has been the inspiration for the idea of terroir, but real terroir is unsullied by chemical inputs, additives or industrial processing. We therefore focus on visits featuring natural, organic and biodynamic agricultural practices, where the vitality and life of the foods and wines is revealed through taste.

Wine & Food

Though the term ‘French Cuisine’ is popularly deployed in the Anglophone world, there is really no such thing. Just as France is a country comprising many regions and local dialects, so it is with food and wine. The variety and traditions are as many as there are departments, all of them vibrantly expressive of ‘spirit of place’. How else can one explain a country with nearly 400 cheeses and over 27,000 wineries?.

Raisin rouge         Gastronomie

From the piquant Mediterrannean and Provençale flavours in the southeast, the robust, earthy and rustic dishes of the south west; the refined and elegant tastes of the Loire Valley and the Île-de-France; the traditional homey, warming and satisfying aromas of Burgundy and Lyon to the rich, buttery and natural tastes of Normandy and Brittany and the solid, satisfying flavours of the North, TASTE TOURS offers intimate and personalised taste experiences that bring you in touch with the ‘spirit of place’.

TASTE TOURS – Origins

France is home to Taste Tours and it has been our privilege to explore, discover and taste the best of the country for nearly 30 years. Geoffrey Finch, President of TASTE, began his life in France working on an organic vineyard, which among other things, confirmed his taste for ‘real’ food and wine. His first experiences in travel were as a barge captain on France’s inland waterways. He then expanded his range working as a freelance chauffeur guide on wine and gastronomic tours that over time, took him to practically all of the most prestigious vineyards and tables of the country. He worked also as a guide on luxury bicycle tours in France, Switzerland, Austria, Hungary and Czechoslovakia and chasing (and on occasion even flying) hot-air balloons around the French countryside. In the 90’s he helped develop a chain of private château called “La Vie de Château”, travelling the countryside to visit and evaluate some of France’s most monumental domains. He has since worked as a travel consultant to agencies around the world, creating original, personalised travel experiences for discerning travellers.

Normandie

2012

La France comme vous ne l'avez jamais visitée !

Paris

Voyages viticoles
Autotours
Car-free Weekend Getaways

 

TASTE TOURS

 

France

La diversité géographique, la beauté des paysages et les nombreux monuments historiques en excellent état de conservation, une agriculture à taille humaine et les meilleurs vins et expériences gastronomiques dont on puisse rêver font de la France la destination la plus prisée au monde. Mais les charmes de la campagne française et de ses bistrots traditionnels ne se valent que s’ils offrent de vraies saveurs et des produits authentiques qui sont cultivés et préparés de façon naturelle et responsable.

Bourgogne

TASTE TOURS est fière de pouvoir partager sa passion des vraies saveurs grâce à ses contacts avec les producteurs et cultivateurs les plus passionnés, et aide les voyageurs à mieux apprécier le lien entre le goût et la terre. L’essence même du goût provient du terroir. Les terres françaises sont à l’origine de cette notion de terroir, mais le vrai terroir est celui qui n’est pas souillé par les intrants chimiques, les additifs ou la transformation industrielle. Nous préférons donc proposer des visites exposant des pratiques naturelles, biologiques et biodynamiques, là où le goût des vins et des produits révèle vie et vitalité.

Vin & gastronomie

Il n’y a pas vraiment de « cuisine française » à proprement parler, comme on peut l’entendre à l’étranger. La France est un pays fait de nombreuses régions et de dialectes locaux, il en est de même pour la cuisine et le vin. Les traditions sont aussi nombreuses que les départements, chacune d’entre elles exprimant parfaitement « l’esprit du terroir ». Comment pourrait-on expliquer autrement une telle richesse, avec presque 400 fromages différents et 27 000 vignobles ?

Raisin rouge         Gastronomie

Les saveurs piquantes de Provence et de Méditerranée, celles élégantes et raffinées de la vallée de la Loire et d’Île-de-France, riches et naturelles en Normandie ou en Bretagne, les plats rustiques et consistants du sud-ouest, ceux solides et généreux du Nord et les arômes chaleureux et revigorants de Bourgogne et de Lyon : TASTE TOURS vous offre des expériences gastronomiques intimes pour vous faire découvrir l’âme du terroir.

TASTE TOURS – les origines

TASTE TOURS est née en France et nous avons eu le privilège d’explorer, de découvrir et de goûter le meilleur du pays depuis près de trente ans. Geoffrey Finch, président de TASTE, a débuté son vie française dans un vignoble biologique ; ce qui a, entre autres choses, affirmé son goût pour les vrais vins et saveurs. Ses premières expériences dans le tourisme se firent en tant que capitaine de péniche sur les eaux fluviales françaises. Il a ensuite élargi son offre comme guide indépendant pour des tours viticoles et gastronomiques qui, au fil du temps, l’ont mené dans bon nombre des plus prestigieux vignobles et aux meilleures tables des France. Il a également guidé des tours à vélo de luxe en France, Suisse, Autriche, Hongrie et Tchécoslovaquie, et suivi (et même parfois piloté) des montgolfières dans la campagne française. Dans les années 90, il a participé à développer une chaîne de châteaux privés, La Vie de Château, sillonnant la campagne pour visiter et évaluer quelques-uns des plus grands domaines français. Il travaille depuis comme consultant pour des agences de voyages du monde entier, créant des voyages originaux et personnalisées pour les touristes avisés.

Normandie

2012